GUEST POST: Pest Peeves with Spencer Dryden | SWAG GIFT BASKET GIVEAWAY!

Hello, I’m Spencer Dryden, author of a new book, “The Memory Of Mermaids” published by Fireborn Publishers. It’s an action/fantasy/adventure about an ordinary guy living in the world today who rescues a mermaid from a sea monster and then….

I’m still pretty new to the writing life, if you can call living in a refrigerator box a life, but I’ve been at it long enough to develop a few pet peeves. Pardon me while I take a moment to vent. These are in no particular order but if the shoe fits wear it. Most of my rants have to do with social media where we all have to camp, building our platform.

I must confess one part of me is very envious of writers, who in addition to literary skills also poses graphic arts skills. I don’t know much, but I know a post that includes catchy graphics is more likely to be read. Moreover, I’m impressed by those writers who are avid readers and reviewers and maintain elaborate websites and blogs. Not me. I have a website but it’s an embarrassment. Blogging depletes my limited creative talent. Finally, there are those that can traverse Goodreads. I find it hard to navigate. I’m grateful for people who have added and reviewed my books. I’ve all but given up on Twitter, the noise is deafening me, me! ME! is all I hear. Facebook is the source of my biggest anguish. So here we go:

1) As writers in the modern era we all have to do platform building. Facebook is a big hang out for trying to gain some exposure. But friends, because of the Facebook algorithm everyone you friend is also a writer trying to gain attention. Sites are overloaded with promotion. I get that. I do some self-serving promotion but the thing that drives me crazy is the people who day after day, sometimes many times in the same, day put up the same promotional material. Dude, we get it, you managed to fit enough words together to have a book. Beating us on the head won’t make us want to read it. Why not take part in discussions, promote other writers, find something to lighten our day. Stop with the repeat button already.

2) Cryptic language for a small group of insiders. Do it in a group e-mail, Facebook is a public forum. It’s annoying. Stop it. Hit that button that limits who sees your posts.

3) Using the same promo over and over. Oh, I said that.

4) Reporting writers on violation of Facebook community standards. F’n’ trolls do this. If you’re subscribing to an adult site expect adult material. Unfriend the person but don’t report them, you are depriving someone of their livelihood and undermining their self confidence.

5) Some women seem to use Facebook trying to get over bad self image problems. They publish endless selfies seeking approval for their looks. Facebook is not a good place to try to cure deep seeded psychological problems. Go get therapy or join a private support group. Nothing anyone tells you on Facebook is going to make you feel pretty if you feel ugly inside.

6) Publishing the same promo material day after day. Is there an echo in here?

7) I’m sorry that creep broke your heart, but he was a creep. There are plenty of good men out there who would treat you with far more respect. Whining about it day in and day out wears thin. It’s important to go through grief but a public forum isn’t the right place. Once again, hit that button that limits shares. Get out of the virtual world and get out in the real world. You’ll find your true heart there.

8) I’m sorry about breast cancer, really, but if you are not aware of breast cancer by now you’re too stupid to live. More men die of prostate/ colon cancer than woman die of breast cancer. We need more awareness of men’s health issues because we are too stupid to live.

9) Memes that use false dichotomies, like I’m not a patriot unless I forward your poster. I am a patriot. I don’t need to prove it to you. Put your energy to work helping disabled veterans.

10) Did I mention how much I hate seeing the same promotional material day after day?

11) Trolls. Ladies, I’m sorry, trolls are everywhere. They are seriously diseased. It has to be unnerving to be trolled.  It’s nothing you did.  There seems to be no way to stop them. At the first sign inappropriate behavior block the bastard.

12) Too many 5 star reviews for a POS. Amazon has it faults worthy of an entire rant, but one thing they try to do is perform a service of accurately representing user experiences. I don’t know how many stories I’ve read, mostly by indie authors operating outside of any vetting mechanism, that somehow manage to get their book loaded with five star reviews when in fact, it’s a piece of crap. There are very few books worthy of five stars, including mine. (Some would say especially mine). When you line up a pile of friends to give five star reviews you’re cheating honest buyers and making the world more resistant to good evaluations. Seek honest reviews. It’s very revealing and will actually help you grow as a writer. I’m terrible at doing formal reviews so I don’t do to many. I won’t post a review unless I can honestly give the book three stars. For bad ratings I prefer to contact writers off line to tell them of my problems with their work.

13) I almost forgot. Posting the same promo material ad nauseam.

14) The endless invitations to ‘like’ pages and attend cover reveals.

I’ve done something a little different with “The Memory of Mermaids.” (Actually not me but my creative, energetic marketer Lori Blantin of Indigo Marketing) She created a Facebook give away page for me where we celebrate the inner mermaid with photos, musings and easy entry contests for mermaid theme bath products. Once in a while I throw in a promo for the book but it’s easy to ignore. You should come over and take a look.

Thanks for spending a few minutes with me. I know my host would be most grateful if you made a comment or asked a question.

Oh did I mention how much I hate seeing the same promo material every day? I finally unfriended that guy.

TITLE: The Memory of Mermaids

SERIES TITLE AND NUMBER:  N/A

PUBLISHER:  Fireborn Publishing

RELEASE DATE:  August 21, 2015

GENRE:  Fantasy

TAGS:  Action/Adventure, Romance, Comedy/Humor  

HEAT LEVEL: 2

PAIRING: Male/Female Mermaid

LENGTH: Novella

BOOK LINKS:

Fireborn Publishing – http://firebornpublishing.com/store/index.php?main_page=product_bookx_info&cPath=4&products_id=130

BLURB:

After he rescues a mermaid from a sea monster, Max Weiss falls into a world of pirate treasure, dolphin whisperers, murderous mobsters and a forbidden love.

Troubles multiply in the already-troubled life of Max Weiss after he rescues a mermaid from the clutches of a sea monster. Drawn by the allure of the enchanting mermaid, Azzaria, Max agrees to help her find her lost mermaid sister. Max is pulled into a world of missing drug money, pirate treasure, murderous mobsters, dolphin whisperers and a forbidden love.


AUTHOR BIO

Spencer Dryden is a new writer, but an old guy on the threshold of draining any reserves left in Medicare and Social Security.

In real life he is a handyman, an at-home dad, inventor and web videographer living a quiet life in the frozen tundra of Minnesota (USA).

Like all writers he has a cat but they don’t get along well. He can be found at the usual writer hangouts:

Facebook |Twitter |Goodreads |Email


GIVEAWAY

Rafflecopter Giveaway – Mermaids and Seashells Gift Basket valued at $100.00

Memory of Mermaids gift basket includes;

Seashell Gift Box that looks like a Book

Bamboo Fiber Bath Scrub

Mermaid Ornament

Mermaid window decal

Starfish Glass Soap Dish

Sea Clay Dry Body Scrub 5 ounce

Shimmering Mineral Bath 5 ounce

Soy Milk Bath scent Mermaid Dreams (2 standard tub uses or 1 garden tub size) scent Mermaid Dreams

Bath Melts (2 standard tub uses or 1 garden tub use)

Shimmer Body Powder scent Memory of Mermaids

Cocoa Butter Lip Balm – passion fruit

Organic Sugar Lip Scrub- passion fruit

Sea Urchin Massage Bar Soap

Mermaid Olive Oil Soap

Nautilus Soap

Conch Soap

Sand Dollar Soap

2 thoughts on “GUEST POST: Pest Peeves with Spencer Dryden | SWAG GIFT BASKET GIVEAWAY!

Leave a Reply

