The Crazy Thing Is

For those that don’t know, July is the month for Camp NaNoWriMo. What’s Camp NaNoWriMo? Well, it’s a month where you select a word count goal and you work really hard at achieving it. It’s the child of NaNoWriMo (National November Writing Month), which is a 50k writing goal in a single month. There are two camps through out the year, one in April and one in July.

I decided to participate in the July camp this year. Last November was my first NaNoWriMo ever. It was a blast. Crazy, hard, but totally fun and interesting. I met some nice local writers. Did a couple sit ins. Encouraged friends to participate. I even achieved my 50k goal, though I never did finish the story (it got so convoluted and not what I originally wanted, that it’s now in the back burner, waiting for a time when I dare to actually look at it again).

For this month I started a new project. I was struggling on my last one, the 2nd book in The Last Canticles, and decided to try my hand at another story I wanted. My original plan was to write a magic realism story. HA! That hasn’t happened.

I don’t know what it is, but this story just has a mind of its own. I’m a firm believer in outlines, but this outline has morphed into so many kinds of stories, that I’m ready to just pitch it. I’m not bitching. I love this story. I love the characters. They have a story to tell and they’re doing it. It’s just crazy how it’s changed so much. At this point I don’t even know what genre it falls under. Romance? Literary? LGBT? Gay literary romance???

Is that a thing?

How did this happen? It started off about a boy and girl and baking, and now it’s a story about an Iraq veteran with a severe limp handling PTSD, how the VA is failing him, and his growing friendship (budding romance??) with an older baker, who is a veteran of Desert Storm. I can’t even tell you what the focus is, other than the MC and is internal struggle. Yes, he’s falling in love, but it isn’t about the romance. It’s about him coping with his mental illness and and overcoming his own internal struggles, through the magic of baking (and maybe puppies).

While I’m struggling to piece together this plot, I was thrown a loop. My editor returned the 1st round of edits for the final book in The Meteora Trilogy. And they needed it back in less than a week. So on top of writing, I have to edit a 70k.

It’s all about prioritizing. I wrote in the morning and edited in the afternoon. But I spent the last three days with a stress headache that made me want to crawl into bed and sleep for the next ten years. Can Someone explain to me again why I decided to do Camp NaNoWriMo? //ugly crying

Leave a Reply

