CHARACTER INTERVIEW with Alexis Duran | $10 GC GIVEAWAY!

I had the wonderful pleasure of speaking with Alexis Duran, author of Touch of Salarand was given the opportunity to speak with the protagonist of her latest story Betwixt and Between, Ian. Check out my interview and look below for information on how to win a Loose Id GC!


E: Hi Ian! Thanks for speaking with me today. You’re a reporter, right? How did you get into journalism? Were you always drawn to it, or was there something specific that brought you to this career?

I: Hi Evelyn, thanks for inviting me.  Yes, I’m a reporter for the Cosmic Eye, a rather trashy tabloid that covers paranormal activity in Seattle, but hey, they print the kind of stories I want to write so I can’t complain.  I got into journalism because ever since I was a kid I’ve been investigating and prying into strange occurrences no one could explain to my satisfaction, like the time the San Juan Islands Ferry disappeared on Puget Sound and turned up in the middle of Lake Washington. Bet you never read about that in The Seattle Times.

E: You’re really interested in the supernatural and magical. What exactly pulls you towards this strange and unique world? How long have you been interested in the occult or is this a new obsession?

I: I had a weird childhood.  My mom was off the grid and we moved around a lot, chasing after any rumor of magic that caught her fancy.  After she died mysteriously at sea chasing mermaids, I picked up the cause and yeah, I guess I became obsessed with proving she was right.  I always felt there was something about the magical realms that spoke to my soul.

E: So our fans want to know, what do you really think about Ezekiel?

I: Zeke?  Oh, he’s…um…well, I try not to think about him too much because when I do I get all flustered and confused and, uh, distracted.  Man, it’s hot in here. What was the question?

E: A lot of crazy things are going on right now, how do you cope with all of it? It has to be a struggle to balance your new life with your old. Any tips for our readers, in case they ever find themselves in a similar circumstance? You never know when another dark elf will come out!

I: Like the dormouse said, “Keep your head”.  Which is a lot easier said than done, especially when the dark elf is super hot and the sex is mind blowing and…wait. Scratch that last bit. I DO NOT recommend running after elves, no matter how cute they are. I suggest keeping your magical protections refreshed at all times and if you get ever a whiff of a hex brewing, run like hell.  You asked me how I cope and let me tell you, it’s a challenge.  People don’t adapt to magic and elves very well.  They get real squirrelly and make your life difficult, so it’s best to keep it all under wraps if you can, which goes against my reporter’s instincts.  It’s a fine line, deciding what to report and what to ignore.

E: The evil queen is after you, which has to be scary. What tips do you have for handling vicious elf queens?

I: Scary—that’s an understatement.  The fairy grapevine is saying the queen put a hit out on me and Zeke!  Luckily I’ve learned a lot since our first encounter.  It’s important to keep your connection to the realm of light strong, so don’t forget to perform your full moon rituals religiously and always keep a crystal or two on your person.  Never except an apple from a stranger.  Network with other magicals.  It’s good to have friends at your back.

E: After everything is said and done, what do you plan to do with your life? It’ll be hard to go back to the mortal realm after seeing something so fantastical. Are there any big plans for you and Ezekiel?

I: Actually, after all I went through in the dark realm, having good old ordinary ground under my feet is pretty comforting.  Living with an elf, especially a powerful one like Ezekiel, can really screw up your equilibrium.  While I recuperate and brush up on all this elf business, Zeke is back in the dark realm. Like Persephone, he has to go back to charge his dark energy.  Hopefully the dark queen won’t make a move before he returns.  When he does, we’re going to start searching for other Liosa (light elves).  I know they’re rare, but I can’t believe I’m the last one.


Excerpt

Ian’s first impression of the musician in the stairwell was that, yes indeed, he’d stumbled across a magical creature. Shadowed lines resolved into a dark-haired figure in a long, heavy coat and high leather boots. The outfit looked like something a down-and-out musketeer might wear, the coat being old-fashioned, fastened with two rows of brass buttons, and well-worn. His shoulder-length black hair hid most of his face. He was tall, and he posed in a jaunty fashion with one leg up, boot resting on a concrete block. His violin case sat open before him, and gleaming coins speckled the black velvet lining, though no one stopped in the few moments Ian stood watching.

The man radiated magical energy but otherwise looked perfectly normal except for the outfit, which could be considered normal among the odd musical and dramatic types that wandered the market. For a while he made no indication of being aware of Ian, but then with a flick of his head he tossed the hair out of his face and quickly moved his gaze from the violin to Ian. That was when Ian knew for sure the man was some sort of magician.

His eyes were smoky blue or stormy gray or some combination of dusty sapphire and silver. Whatever they were, they weren’t human. And he was ridiculously handsome like he should be fronting a rock band, not busking for quarters in a dark stairwell. This made Ian wonder if it was lust rather than magic drawing him in. Could just be an ordinary guy. He doubted it. The music was penetrating Ian’s soul, rooting him to the spot. He’d fallen for glamour casting 101.


BUY IT HERE

Loose ID: http://www.loose-id.com/edge-of-night-1-betwixt-and-between.html

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/Betwixt-Between-Edge-Night-Book-ebook/dp/B010O6IP8S/ref=sr_1_1?s=digital-text&ie=UTF8&qid=1435725258&sr=1-1

All Romance: https://www.allromanceebooks.com/product-betwixtandbetween-1842131-143.html


ABOUT THE AUTHOR

Alexis Duran was born and raised in the Pacific Northwest. At the University of Oregon, her fascination with people and relationships led her to major in Sociology, but her main love has always been creative writing.  She’s worked in museums, fashion, finance and film production. Her favorite job so far was inventorying the collection of a haunted Victorian Mansion.  She’s had several short stories published in the mystery, horror and literary genres and is the author of the Masters and Mages erotic fantasy series.  Her fiction has won several awards including the Rupert Hughes Award from the Maui Writers Conference. She lives with one dog and four and half cats.  She’s currently working on the next Masters and Mages novel and several other erotic novellas.


GIVEAWAY

Alexis is giving away a $10 GC for Loose Id to one lucky reader. Just click on the rafflecopter to enter!

One thought on “CHARACTER INTERVIEW with Alexis Duran | $10 GC GIVEAWAY!

Leave a Reply

