BOOK HAUL!

20150627_084337

So I haven’t done an original post in a little while. I have a few things in the works, including some reviews, but I thought I’d do a little bit of a haul. Now I originally was going to record it, but due to some rather annoying technical difficulties, I gave up. I’ll have to work on that, because I’d like to also start doing live reviews, which would be a little more in depth on my opinions. I’ll keep you up to date on where that is, but right now it’s in li~imbo!
This past Saturday was the annual Half-Price Clearance Sale, where all the local Half-Price Book stores in the central Ohio area come together and set their clearance items. Everything is $2 or less. On Sunday it drops down to a $1. It’s a three day extravaganza of books upon books. And I mean this was an entire building down at the Ohio Expo Center filled with rows upon rows of tables, covered in books. It was huge!

It started at 9, but I got there early with Dahmpir72. We were there around 8:30 and there was already a line. It was crazy! The line grew as we waited, starting to wrap around into the parking lot. The reason we got there early was to get some exclusive totes. This is my Black Friday, y’all. It was crazy, but fun. When the doors opened, we rushed in. It didn’t take long for the carts to vanish.

I won’t go into detail, but needless to say we left about a quarter till noon and we still hadn’t even put a dent in the place. I managed to keep within my $20 budget, which I’m proud of.

20150630_111704This is the front of the tote

20150630_111717

This is the back. I thought it was super cute!

I made out like a bandit. I got some really great books. Some of them I read, some of them I never even heard of, and a couple I’ve been searching for for a really long time!

20150630_111659The first book I got was THE SAMURAI’S GARDEN by Gail Tsukiyama. I’ve already read it, but it’s one of my favorites from her so it was a must have. Dhampir72 actually found a copy as well (hers is with the newer cover).

I then got NORTH AND SOUTH by Elizabeth Gaskell. You do not even know how long I’ve been looking for this book. I’ve been hunting for it for over a year, ever since I saw the Richard Armitage mini series from BBC. It’s sooooooo good. If you like period pieces, especially Regency/Victorian era ones, this is right up your ally.

The third book, which as you can see has no dust jacket, is an intermediate grade story called THE SPY PRINCESS. I thought it looked super cute, so I figured I’d give it a try. I got another intermediate grade novel called The Doppleganger: The Great Escape. It’s a comic/novel duo and it seemed super cute. I’ll post reviews when I finishr eading.

The 5th book I found made me laugh and was an instant by. It’s called Raptor Red by Robert Bakker. And you guessed it, it’s about raptors. I couldn’t find a better book to read after seeing Jurassic World, than Jurassic Park its self.

I got another creature book. This one is by the writer of Jaws, and it’s called WHITE SHARK. I looooove creature/monster books. I think they’re so fun. They always remind me of bad Sy-Fy movies.

I picked up a copy of THE SNOW GARDEN by Christopher Rice. He’s one of my all time favorite authors, and I’ve alraedy read this one. I just didn’t have a copy of my own. I’m slowly collecting all his books.

Then of course, the final book I got, was Anne Rice’s THE CLAIMING OF SLEEPING BEAUTY. I’ve been dying to read this series, so when I saw it for $2 I couldn’t resist.

Well that’s it. That’s all I got. Not a bad deal for under $20. They do these sales all over the US. So talk to your local Half-Price store to see when yours is. I recommend going, because you never know what treasure you’ll find!

Leave a Reply

